Release & ARC Review: The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

For fans of Children of Blood and Bones and Avatar, this book is for you. This is a solid book  that brings to light the plight of women everywhere and we need to show it to the world “Never forget: the same gift they praise you for now, they will kill you for later” Rating:…

THE DEATH OF VIVEK OJI – BOOK REVIEW

I’ll start by saying that Akwaeke Emezi is a writer that shows us the flaws in our society in such a delightful and easy to grasp kind of way. Some people can’t see softness without wanting to hurt it. Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Format: e-ARC Author: Akwaeke Emezi Date Published: August 4th 2020 Genre: Literary Fiction, LGBT…

IF THE SUN NEVER SETS – BOOK REVIEW

And I’m back here again because this is the final story in the duet and like the first book, I really loved this too. Whatever your fear is, or however far you fall-you’ll survive. And I’ll be there to catch you. Format: e-ARC Author: Ana Huang Date Published: July, 30th 2020 Genre: New Adult contemporary…

IF WE EVER MEET AGAIN – BOOK REVIEW

Not being a huge fan of romance, I was surprised at myself for loving this book so much. The writing, the scenes, setting; it was all lovable and while I had a bit of a hard time focusing on the book, as soon as I gave it all my attention, I was sucked in. Farrah…

GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER: BOOK REVIEW

Here is a book that shares the stories of 12 black British women all interconnected and of diverse age. This was a bit difficult to get into because it was a writing style I wasn’t used to which Bernadine calls “fusion fiction”, it has no punctuations, stripped bare of capitalizations and makes use of page…

BLOG TOUR: SILVER SPARROW BY TAYARI JONES (Review)

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones. This tour is been organized by One World Publications. Silver Sparrow By Tayari Jones Publisher: OneworldPublications Release Date: March 19th, 2020 Genre: Adult Fiction, Women’s Fiction Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ SYNOPSIS With the opening line of Silver Sparrow, “my father, James Witherspoon, is…

FEBRUARY 2020 WRAP-UP

I had a really good February when it came to reading. It was me going a bit out of my comfort zone to read an audiobook. I’m almost done with my NetGalley TBR, still have about 5 books there to finish up and also I need to buy more books too but then my bank…

A CURSE SO DARK AND LONELY: BOOK REVIEW

I love me a good fairytale retelling and this is a good one. I love how the original beauty and the beast tale was twisted in many ways, I love the inclusion of cerebral palsy which to me is a way to get people informed (I never really knew jack about cerebral palsy) “The responsibility…

MILK AND HONEY: BOOK REVIEW

I’ve wanted to read milk and honey for the longest time and since part of my goals for 2020 includes reading an audiobook, I decided to read it in this format. “It takes grace to remain kind in cruel situations” Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Format: Audiobook Author: Rupi Kaur Date published: November 2014 Genre: Poetry Pages: 204…

SUCH A FUN AGE: BOOK REVIEW

“As it seemed, her entire existence had become annulled” Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ Format: Ebook Author: Kiley Reid Date published: December, 2019 Genre: Fiction Pages: 320 Alix Chamberlain is a woman who gets what she wants and has made a living showing other women how to do the same. A mother to two small girls, she started…