MILK AND HONEY: BOOK REVIEW

I’ve wanted to read milk and honey for the longest time and since part of my goals for 2020 includes reading an audiobook, I decided to read it in this format.

“It takes grace to remain kind in cruel situations”

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Format: Audiobook

Author: Rupi Kaur

Date published: November 2014

Genre: Poetry

Pages: 204

Milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, love, loss and femininity. It is split into four chapters and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

I like this book of poems; before I read this book I was already familiar with the words. 

This is one for those nursing a broken heart, it is divided into four part; the hurting, the loving, the breaking and the healing.

It tells the tale of a woman hurting, of how she loved so much, of how she was broken and of how she healed herself.

“You have been taught your legs are a pit stop for men that need a place to rest, a vacant body empty enough for guests but no one ever comes and is willing to stay”

These words are so true and speak volumes but it hit a spot when I listened to it. The audiobook was narrated by the author herself and although I liked her voice, I didn’t enjoy the rising and falling tones in her voice. I felt she should have read it like without turning it into a spoken word kind of something.

“You were so afraid of my voice; I decided to be afraid of it too”

When people are violated, their voices are taken from them, they are told not to speak a word and with this they don’t say a word, thus being afraid of their own voice.

I think “milk and honey” is a book everyone should read even though I’m late to it.

Have you read this book? Did you enjoy reading or listening to this book? What do you think about it?

Till next time,

L O V E & L I G H T

InstagramGoodreads | Pinterest