JANUARY WRAP-UP

I struggled with reading at the beginning of January, and as usual January was quite slow but I was productive.

I cleared most of my tbr on NetGalley and I was able to pick up some of the books I travelled with.

BOOKS READ

Stay With Me (5/5)

I enjoyed reading this book with its twists and turns. This book is an eye-opener as to what extend families are like in certain marriages, it has made me realize that at the end of the day, love really isn’t enough to get married.

Lagos Noir (4/5)

Lagos Noir is one the books I’ve bought solely cause of their cover and title. I never really heard about it and but I knew I would enjoy it.

I didn’t connect with all of the stories (obviously), the first story in the book had me thirsting for more; actually all of the stories did.

Easy Motion Tourist (5/5)

I liked reading this book; I enjoyed all of the characters. I think it was well written, the crime was on point and everything played out in my head like a crime movie. Lagos was brought to more life and it made me want to keep reading to find out what happens next.

Pet (5/5)

This was a re-read for me. I read it in 2019 but didn’t document my thoughts. This was a very amazing read; I enjoyed every bit of it. Akwaeke finished the work, they wrote with such finesse and to think that I haven’t read their first book Freshwater. Pet was overflowing with so much wisdom; I had to make use of my highlighting pen.

How we disappeared (4/5)

An intense and really nerve racking read. It shows the lot that has been handed to women and the trauma that women go through, the heartbreaking things they have to do. We need books like this to remind us of historical events we have long forgotten. It tells the occupation of Singapore by Japan between 1942-1945 and the women were called ‘comfort women’ after being coerced into sexual slavery in order to satisfy the sexual desires of the Japanese armies.

Winter Dark (4/5)

An epic spy thriller series with a kick-ass female lead that is totally badass and smart. I was excited while reading it because it played out like a movie in my mind; with a plot that barely gives you time to breathe, it was a swift read filled with heart-pounding tension and a lot of adrenaline rush.

The man she married (5/5)

From the very moment he proposed 3 months into their relationship, I was already onto him. Although I wanted a little bit more darkness, I did enjoy it. It is a really good psychological thriller with all elements present, although the female lead was a tad bit too gullible but its fiction.

Her last secret (4/5)

This was okay for me, initially wanted to DNF but I tried to carry on. It was a slow read and I found my mind wandering while reading (it didn’t hold my mind captive) but the end did have some good plot twists that snuck up on me.

Perfect Kill (4/5)

This is the first in the series I’m actually reading but the book does so well as a standalone. I think the plot was great, the part with human trafficking makes you want to sob as the girls are seen as commodities and items that were abused, used and disposed. I need to read the rest of the books in this series.

TBR FOR FEBRUARY

Seeing as its Black History Month, I definitely would read books with African/Black authors. Also going to be continuing with clearing my NetGalley TBR and try to get my feedback ratio to 80%. Overall I’m looking at reading 6 books, hopefully.

BLOGGING

Recently moved my blog from squarespace to wordpress, churned out posts and slowly falling into a routine + I have about 4 reviews up.

January was good and I’m pretty sure February will be better.

What books do you have on your TBR for February?

ALL MY LOVE!

Leave a comment